top of page
Home: Blog2
Search
  • ahermes71

400 visors so far and counting ...

Updated: May 7, 2020




Summary:

--

310 Visors for Ville de Sceaux

30 for medical center in Yvelines

30 for family and neighbours

30 others

--


It all started few weeks ago, during lockdown, when I’ve dusted my two old 3D printers and started printing supports for visors. I think, now, it was really a great idea and also helpful.

Over the last few weeks, I have taken a lot of time to get the two printers Geetech i3 and Prusa MMU 2.5S running in optimal settings in order to create, so far, about 200 3D protective visors.

What you need to know, first of all, is that the printers in kit are not necessarily intended for mass production, but rather for an initiation to 3D printing with a reduced number of objects.

However, I find the use of the kit printers (set up in the family with my father and grandfather and maintained by myself!) extremely enriching, as you learn a lot about the principles of 3D printing, stepper motors and the necessary settings.

In order to obtain a constant and sustained rhythm, without errors, interruptions, I had to work on many points such as printer optimisation, printer optimisation, 3D modelling software, printing material selection …

Thanks to the City of Sceaux, and to the Mayor, I was able to provide our town merchants and also my neighbours with more than 210 visors in 15 days.

The visors are currently being distributed by the city services to the town's merchants.

Many shopkeepers have remained open during the lockdown, we owe it to them to help and protect them, now and after May 11th.

I also find very rewarding to be able to help others with something we can produce ourselves.

In case you have an old 3D printer at home and some free time, I really encourage you to try it, it doesn’t require much to start. Start by googling “Visor_frame_EUROPE_ISO838_v3.stl” and you should be printing visors in no time !

Stay home. Stay safe.

36 views

Recent Posts

See All

Contact

Thanks for your interest in Applied Artificial Intelligence. For more information, feel free to get in touch and I will get back to you soon!

Home: Contact
bottom of page